Rhiamon Fatesealer
January 15th, 2004, 07:07 PM
Just got this email today in my Yahoo account. The email claims to come from Paypal, email address [email protected] Here's the text of the email I got
Dear PayPal member,
PayPal would like to inform you about some important information
regarding your PayPal account. This account, which is associated with the
email address
[email protected]
will be expiring within five business days. We apologize for any
inconvenience that this may cause, but this is occurring because all of our
customers are required to update their account settings with their
personal information.
We are taking these actions because we are implementing a new security
policy on our website to insure everyone's absolute privacy. To avoid
any interruption in PayPal services then you will need to run the
application that we have sent with this email (see attachment) and follow the
instructions. Please do not send your personal information through
email, as it will not be as secure.
IMPORTANT! If you do not update your information with our secure
application within the next five business days then we will be forced to
deactivate your account and you will not be able to use your PayPal account
any longer. It is strongly recommended that you take a few minutes out
of your busy day and complete this now.
DO NOT REPLY TO THIS MESSAGE VIA EMAIL! This mail is sent by an
automated message system and the reply will not be received.
Thank you for using PayPal.
Virus scan through Yahoo found that the attachment had a virus, MiMail.I. Here's the info I found on it at F-Secure (http://www.f-secure.com/v-descs/mimail_i.shtml).
Mimail.I is an email worm which disguises itself as an email from Paypal on-line payment service and tries to steal credit card information. It arrives with the subject YOUR PAYPAL.COM ACCOUNT EXPIRES and attachment called www.paypal.com.scr
F-Secure has received reports of emails containing the Mimail.I worm with the attachment name: 'paypal.asp.scr'. Since the worm sends emails with the attachment name 'www.paypal.com.scr' it is likely that those messages were hand-crafted.
Anyways, just a heads up.
Dear PayPal member,
PayPal would like to inform you about some important information
regarding your PayPal account. This account, which is associated with the
email address
[email protected]
will be expiring within five business days. We apologize for any
inconvenience that this may cause, but this is occurring because all of our
customers are required to update their account settings with their
personal information.
We are taking these actions because we are implementing a new security
policy on our website to insure everyone's absolute privacy. To avoid
any interruption in PayPal services then you will need to run the
application that we have sent with this email (see attachment) and follow the
instructions. Please do not send your personal information through
email, as it will not be as secure.
IMPORTANT! If you do not update your information with our secure
application within the next five business days then we will be forced to
deactivate your account and you will not be able to use your PayPal account
any longer. It is strongly recommended that you take a few minutes out
of your busy day and complete this now.
DO NOT REPLY TO THIS MESSAGE VIA EMAIL! This mail is sent by an
automated message system and the reply will not be received.
Thank you for using PayPal.
Virus scan through Yahoo found that the attachment had a virus, MiMail.I. Here's the info I found on it at F-Secure (http://www.f-secure.com/v-descs/mimail_i.shtml).
Mimail.I is an email worm which disguises itself as an email from Paypal on-line payment service and tries to steal credit card information. It arrives with the subject YOUR PAYPAL.COM ACCOUNT EXPIRES and attachment called www.paypal.com.scr
F-Secure has received reports of emails containing the Mimail.I worm with the attachment name: 'paypal.asp.scr'. Since the worm sends emails with the attachment name 'www.paypal.com.scr' it is likely that those messages were hand-crafted.
Anyways, just a heads up.