PDA

View Full Version : Statistics 101:

bob the goat
November 6th, 2006, 03:08 PM
Due to a recent illness, I have done some digging for some medical facts, and have been like a kid in a candy store with all the new things that I didnít even know that I didnít know about. Most of the things were trivia, and probably not that useful to anyone in real life, but interesting to me none the less. The one thing that I did strike upon that riled me somewhat was the blatant abuse of statistics. To somewhat qualify myself, I have a Bachelors degree in Manufacturing Engineering, and an Associates in Mechanical Engineering. I have taken more statistics classes than any human should have to endure (so much so that I begun to like it, as disgusting as that thought is).

The thing that I want to talk about is the difference between correlation and cause.

First, a definition of Correlation: A measure of the strength of linear association between two variables. The relationship between two sets of data, that when one changes, the other is likely to make a corresponding change.

What drove me nuts when researching all these different things was how the people writing the article would interpret a correlation as a cause. Just because there is a correlation between two things does not mean that one is the cause of the other.

When doing research involving correlations there are two (or more) factors, and a cause for each of those factors. Ideally, you will discover that one factor is the cause of the other, allowing you to change one thing and affect both. i.e.

Let me give you some examples. Iím going to list the theory, then the data, then the conclusions...then Iím going to evaluate that conclusion based on sound statistical practice. Note, Iím making up numbers here, I didnít actually do any of these experiments.

Situation 1:
Theory: There is a correlation between people that wear cotton jumpsuits and crime.