Looking for tips.

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Looking for tips.

So I've decided to drop the whole "write a book" idea and go with the "draw a manga! 8D" idea. My reason for this is, frankly, I suck at describing things. I'd rather just point to a tree than describe what the tree looks like. A lot of my writer's block came from describing stuff, so I think if I can learn how to draw well, I won't struggle with the story quite as much.
    That being said, I am a total newb at this stuff :B.
    Anyone got any advice for a total beginner? Anyone know any good tutorials online? (preferably in video form :P)
    "If we can just [B][I]dodge[/I][/B] the ground, we'll be fine" Fighter - 8-bit Theater

Advice on what exactly? Writing manga? Drawing manga? Drawing in general?

Comment

Drawing in general, really. With emphasis on manga :P. I'm working with someone else for the story of my first manga, and I already have several ideas for stories after that.
      "If we can just [B][I]dodge[/I][/B] the ground, we'll be fine" Fighter - 8-bit Theater

Comment

need more information other then putting pencil to paper, what are you looking for? advice wise, remember drawing a manga requires a graphic artists look to shadowing and other blends that you would find in normal art.. its a little different... more input?
        "I suck at dying, I died twice and failed, so now you're all stuck with me forever..."

Comment

Shadowing, coloring (if I even decide to color. Lots of them are black and white from what I've seen, that are published at least), digital drawing (I'll probably have to learn this at some point), etc.

Comment

the shading is all crosshatched or full of dots (stippling) thats a graphic art kinda look...
            "I suck at dying, I died twice and failed, so now you're all stuck with me forever..."

Comment

....what's "crosshatched"?

Comment

you take a hatch and you cross it... duh...:P crosshatching...

Comment